Community Development

The Biloxi Department of Community Development is responsible for overseeing all development in the city. This takes many forms including overseeing building projects, economic development, code enforcement, and reviewing plans for potential construction.

The department is composed of 14 divisions which include economic development, planning, zoning, building permits, inspections, code enforcement, floodplain management, community rating system (CRS), federal and state programs, business licensing, historic preservation, museums, cultural affairs, and tree preservation. 

The department also ensures that citizens maintain their property to city standards.

The department often cooperates with other departments within the city including public works, fire, and police as well as federal and state agencies including, FEMA, the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency (MEMA), the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), and the Department of Marine Resources (DMR).