Shoebox float creators honored at City Hall

The winners of the annual Shoe Box Float Contest were recognized at Biloxi City Hall. The annual contest, conceived by the Mardi Gras promoter and educator Ruth Hunt 22 years ago, is designed to spur interest among youngsters in the history and traditions of Carnival.

First place winners and their respective schools: Allison Otahal, fourth grade,  Gorenflo; Hunter Boots, fourth grade, Jeff Davis; McKenzie Thornton, fourth grade,  Nativity BVM; Mia Hebert, fourth grade, North Bay; Lyric James, fourth grade, Popp’s Ferry Carly Blake, fifth grade, Biloxi Upper Elementary; Baileigh Joy Tarrant, fifth grade,  Nativity BVM; Sophia Bell, sixth grade, Biloxi Upper Elementary; and Emma Theobald, sixth grade, Nativity BVM.

Honorable mention: Paityn Newbaker, fourth grade, Gorenflo; Landon Hinson, fourth grade, Jeff Davis; Ryleigh McNeil, fourth grade, Nativity BVM; Cooper Cross, fourth grade, North Bay; Cash Snodgrass, fourth grade, Popp’s Ferry; Kinsley Moody, fifth grade, Biloxi Upper Elementary; Izabelle Byers, fifth grade, Nativity BVM; Lacy Asbill, sixth grade, Biloxi Upper Elementary; and Ava Stoddard, sixth grade, Nativity BVM.
Video: See the council presentations
Gallery: See images from the meeting