Gilich, Swetman headed for runoff

The field of 10 candidates for mayor of Biloxi was narrowed to two this evening, with top vote-getter “FoFo” Gilich scheduled to face runner-up W.S. “Windy” Swetman III in a runoff election on Tuesday, May 12.

A total of 7,605 votes were cast in the special election to replace A.J. Holloway, with Gilich capturing 2,207 votes to Swetman’s 1,685 votes. Affadavit ballots are not included in these numbers.

The numbers:

“FoFo” Gilich (2,207 votes or 29.03 percent)

W.S. “Windy” Swetman III (1,685 votes or 22.16 percent)

Felix O. Gines (1,042 votes or 13.7 percent)

Paul Tisdale (972 or 12.78 percent)

Cono Caranna (720 votes or 9.47 percent)

Dixie Newman (677 votes or 8.9 percent)

Kenny Glavan (182 votes or 2.39 percent)

David Bull (79 votes or 1.03 percent)

Pat Morris (11 votes or .14 percent)

Victor Ainsworth (10 votes or .13 percent)

See the precinct-by-precinct totals