Biloxi recognizes Taconi as volunteer of year

August “Augie” Taconi, a longtime volunteer with arts, civic and tourism groups in Biloxi, was named the city’s distinguished volunteer of the year during the annual Volunteer Recognition Awards Wednesday evening at the Biloxi Community Center

More than 500 individuals, civic groups and businesses were recognized by Biloxi Mayor A.J. Holloway and Brig. Gen. Bill Lord of Keesler..

“You are what makes this city the great place that it is,” Holloway told audience members. “I’m very proud of the work that you do, and I’m very proud to be your mayor.

Taconi, who operates the Old Biloxi Tour Train in Biloxi, was recognized for his work in helping coordinate the annual children’s parades at Christmas and Mardi Gras, as well as volunteering technical assistance for several theater groups and church organizations.

Taconi has worked on myriad projects with Biloxi’s two chambers of commerce, and played a key role in helping drive the multi-million-dollar restoration of the Saenger Theater. Additionally, as president of Main Street Biloxi he helped launch the popular “drive-in” movies on the Town Green, and founded the Mississippi Gulf Coast Attractions Association, which helps market local visitor attractions.

The Peoples Bank was recognized as the 2005 Volunteer Business of the Year for the philanthropic efforts of the bank and its employees, as well as for the bank taking a leadership role in organizing and helping fund Cruisin’ the Coast. Each year, the bank also challenges its employees to volunteer time for community projects and the bank helps fund many of the endeavors.

Among the other awards presented Wednesday evening:

Community Volunteer of the Year: Vivian D. Kinman.

Education Volunteer of the Year: Tammi Carson.

Youth Volunteer Group of the Year: Biloxi High School Air Force JROTC.

Adult Volunteer Group of the Year: Keesler Noncommissioned Officer Academy.

City of Biloxi Employee Volunteer of the Year: Nicky Filipich

Sports Volunteers of the Year: Allison and Patrick Buchanan. 

Arts and History Volunteer of the Year: Judy Steckler.

Health Volunteer of the Year: Bill Ritchie.

Youth Volunteer of the Year: Louie Pinto III.


To see photos from the event, click here.