Voters in four wards to cast ballots

It’s municipal election year in Biloxi, and four of the seven City Council seats are being contested in the upcoming April 6 party primaries.

Republican and Democratic Executive committees today announced the qualified candidates to Biloxi Municipal Clerk Stacy Thacker.

Incumbent Mayor Andrew “FoFo” Gilich and Councilmembers Dixie Newman of Ward 3 and Nathan Barrett of Ward 7 face no opposition in the upcoming elections, but party primaries will be conducted in four contested Republican races: Wards 1, 4, 5, and 6.

Three Republicans will be on the ballot in Ward 1, and two in Wards 4, 5 and 6. Nominees chosen in the primaries and independent candidates will face off in the June 8 general election.

Biloxi operates under a Mayor-Council form of government: A mayor runs the day-to-day operation of the city and policymaking councilmembers are elected from seven wards throughout the city.
Election info: Candidates and more