The inauguration: photos and text

Mayor A.J. Holloway and the seven members of the Biloxi City Council took their oaths of office during a ceremony at the Biloxi Civic Center this afternoon, with the six-term mayor turning to his first inaugural address 20 years ago for inspiration.

The ceremony included the swearing in of five new councilmembers —
Dixie Newman, Robert L. Deming III, Dr. Paul A. Tisdale and Kenny Glavan – and two who were re-elected, George Lawrence and David Fayard.

Holloway, who made history four years ago when he was sworn into an unprecedented fifth term as mayor, spoke of “the mysterious relationship between continuity and change” in a brief address that borrowed from his first speech as mayor, on July 6, 1993.

“So let us now begin anew,” he said, “and let us begin with the commitment to move forward with energy and hope, with faith and discipline, and let us work until our work is done.”

Photos: To see hundreds of photos from today’s inaugural ceremony, click here.

The program: To see the lineup for this afternoon’s ceremony, click here.

The mayor’s remarks: To see the text of the mayor’s presentation, click here.

The work ahead: To see the agenda for Tuesday’s City Council meeting, the first of the new four-year term, click here.