Rediscover ‘Lost Biloxi’ at the Biloxi Visitors Center

Edmond Boudreaux

Edmond Boudreaux

Biloxi’s beaches and casinos make the city a haven for Gulf Coast tourists. And since it’s one of America’s oldest communities, local residents have seen many iconic treasures come and go. Before Hurricane Katrina, more than 150 historical structures dotted the area. Of those, 60 were lost to the devastating storm, including the Father Ryan House, built in the early 1840s. In 1969, Hurricane Camille flattened the Baldwin Wood Lighthouse. Other structures such as Biloxi City Hall on Main Street faded away with the passage of time, having stood resolute for decades. Author Edmond Boudreaux recalls Biloxi’s most significant and cherished landmarks in his new book “Lost Biloxi.”

The Biloxi Visitor Center will introduce this new book to the community on Tuesday, Sept. 22 at a meet the author night from 5:30 to 7 p.m.  Boudreaux will discuss his inspiration and motivation in writing the book and share stories about these lost architectural treasures.  After the presentation, the author will sign books.  This title along with Boudreaux’s previous two books, “Legends and Lore of the Mississippi Golde18828 Lost Biloxin Gulf Coast” and “The Seafood Capital of the World – Biloxi’s Maritime History,”  will be available for sale in the Visitors Center Shop.  A 15 percent discount will be offered on all three of books during the event.

Boudreaux’s passion for Mississippi history led him to become a community advisory committee member for the Mississippi State Historical Museum. He has served as advisory board member and former president of the Maritime & Seafood Industry Museum. In 2011, the Mississippi Department of Archives & History recognized Edmond’s work for historical causes, the MDAH and Gulf Coast studies with a Resolution of Commendation award. He is the 1993 recipient of Biloxi’s Historian of the Year award.

The Biloxi Visitors Center is located at 1050 Beach Blvd. and is open daily from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.