Fifth annual Katrina memorial observance (Aug. 29, 2010)

Here are photographs from today’s Katrina memorial observance on the Biloxi Town Green, marking the fifth anniversary of the storm striking Biloxi and the Mississippi Gulf Coast. Among the participants in the program: Mayor A.J. Holloway, U.S. Sen. Roger Wicker, Congressman Gene Taylor, MEMA Director Mike Womack, Bishop Roger Morin of the Catholic Diocese of Biloxi, Lori Beth Susman of Congregation Beth Israel, John Jennings of the Biloxi Fire Department, Biloxi Public Affairs Manager Vincent Creel, students from St. Patrick and Biloxi High schools, and the Our Mother of Sorrows Choir. Photos by Andrew Kavesh of New York City. Click on individual images to enlarge.