Mayor, City Council re-elected to new terms

Mayor Andrew “FoFo” Gilich and all seven Biloxi councilmembers have been re-elected to another term.

Mayor Gilich, along with Councilmembers Dixie Newman of Ward 3, Robert Deming III of Ward 4, Kenny Glavan of Ward 6 and Nathan Barrett of Ward 7 were all unopposed in today’s general election.

According to unofficial results, in Ward 1, incumbent Democrat George Lawrence held off Republican challenger Keith Anderson by 12 votes, 275 to 263. In Ward 2,  incumbent Democrat Felix O. Gines took 238 votes against Independent challenger Tracey D. Smith, who received 66 votes.  And, in Ward 5, incumbent Republican Paul Tisdale took nearly 80 percent of the votes over Democrat challenger Sugar Stallings, 238 to 61.

Nearly five percent of the more than 24,000 registered voters turned out for the general election, according to Municipal Clerk Stacy Thacker.

For Gilich, this will be his second full four-year term, winning his first full term in 2017 and a special mid-term election in 2015 to replace A. J. Holloway.
See the unofficial results