McGilvary receives majority for the Ward 4 seat

Rodney McGilvary received the majority of the votes in the special election runoff to fill the Ward 4 seat of the Biloxi City Council.

McGilvary took the lead Tuesday night after the polls closed at the Margaret Sherry Library & Fire Station Complex. McGilvary received 452  votes or more than 50 percent of the 897 votes cast. Jamie Creel received 443 votes. There were two write-in votes.

Once the absentee ballot deadline is met on July 16 with votes postmarked on or by election day, the Municipal Election Commission will certify the results and officially declare the winner of the Ward 4 Biloxi City Council seat. There are 17 outstanding absentee ballots.

A special election to fill the vacant seat was held on June 18 with five candidates. That race was narrowed down to McGilvary and Creel which led to the runoff election held today.
See the unofficial results