Democrats certify three unopposed candidates in Biloxi

The upcoming party primaries in Biloxi got smaller last week when the Democratic Executive Committee announced that there was no need for ballots to be cast in three Democratic races where nominees were unopposed. The Republican primary, however, will have citywide balloting because of the mayor’s race between incumbent A.J. Holloway and contender David Bull.

The Democratic Executive Committee has certified mayoral candidate Jess Kennedy, Ward 3 incumbent Lucy Denton and Ward 7 candidate Tyler Ainsworth as the Democratic nominees for the June 4 general election. The Democratic Executive Committee made the announcement because Kennedy, Denton and Ainsworth are unopposed for the Democratic nominations in their respective races.

The only races for Democratic nominees on May 7 will be in Wards 1 and 2, areas that stretch from Point Cadet to west Biloxi. There are no Democratic council candidates in Wards 4, 5 and 6.

The party primaries decide the Democratic and Republican nominees, who will then face each other and any independent candidates in the June 4 general elections in Biloxi. Voters who cast ballots on May 7 must vote either Democratic or Republican.

The reduction in balloting by the Democratic Executive Committee means that the city, which conducts the elections for the Democratic and Republican parties, will have to hire fewer poll workers for the May 7 primaries, said Municipal Clerk Stacy Thacker.

In the Republican primary, voters will be casting ballots citywide in the mayor’s race, and there are contested Republican races in Wards 3, 4, 6 and 7.

In west Biloxi’s Ward 5, where Arlene Wall succeeded her late husband and longtime Councilmember Tom Wall, Republican Dr. Paul Tisdale is the presumptive winner, since he faces no opponents in the primaries or general election.

To see the list of candidates in all races in Biloxi, click here.

To see ward maps and key election dates, click here.