Darren Endris receives Phil McCabe 5 Bugle Award

When the Biloxi Fire Department recognized nearly two dozen acts of bravery and gallantry during its annual awards ceremony, Firefighter III Darren Endris was honored with the chief’s award.

“He is the ideal of what a public servant should be, and he possesses a natural ability to inspire others through his gentle, encouraging actions,” Biloxi Fire Chief Joe Boney said during his presentation of the Phil McCabe 5 Bugle Award, also known as the Chief’s Award. 

The award, given to a firefighter or firefighters, “based on observed behavior and attitude,” is named for the first chief of the Biloxi Fire Department, who served from 1883 to 1894 and is credited with helping establish the city’s first fire company, Volunteer Fire Co. No. 1, on Sept. 19, 1883, a date generally considered the birthdate of the Biloxi Fire Department.

“The criteria used to consider one for the Phil McCabe 5 Bugle Award states that the recipient should be a member of the department who models the mission and vision of the department, and one who exemplifies the departmental values of Strength, Honor, Excellence, Dedication, and Service,” Chief Boney said.  “I can think of no one who has endured what this man has, yet maintains his values and ethics.”

Darren Endris has been serving the department since November 1994.

Other awards presented were:

EMT Recognition: Firefighters Nick Allen, Morgan Howe, Adam Rudolph, and Michael Woods
Certificate of Commendation: Former Deputy Chief John Jennings, and Firefighters John LeGrand, Kenny Matlock, Jeff Hinton, Mike Lurix, and Travis Sexton
Certificate of Appreciation: Sherry Bell, Chief Mike Beyerstedt on behalf of the Gulfport Fire Department, Ann Marie Borries, Cono Caranna III and Greg Stewart on behalf of Margaritaville, James Carver and Charles Wise on behalf of American Medical Response, Les Clark, Jennifer Claverie, Keith Crosby, Jason Dalton on behalf of Firehouse Subs, Chief Keith Davis on behalf of Department of Marine Resources, Chief James Donnett on behalf of Keesler Air Force Base Fire Department, Chief Chase Edwards on behalf of Combat Readiness Training Center, Jimmy Freeman, Phil Frisby, Al Green, Carson Harris,  Mark Holland on behalf of Desporte’s Paper Company, Jeff Jenkins and Charles O’Hala on behalf of Harrah’s Casino, Ron Lessner, Bobby Mahoney on behalf of Mahoney’s, Mark McCrindle, Christy Milbourne, Chief John Miller on behalf of Biloxi Police Department, Kevin Murray, Patty Nash, Chief Jeff Ponson on behalf of Ocean Springs Fire Department, Tina Rexrode on behalf of Papa John’s Pizza, Charmaine Schmermund, Sean Shoemake, Vernon Smith, Katy Stallings, Chief Pat Sullivan on behalf of Harrison County Fire Service, Ira Fey Tremmel, Susan Varnes on behalf of Treasure Bay Casino, Kristi Vermillion on behalf of The Shrimpossibles, Trudy Vilarrubia, Susan Walker and Arika Zandee on behalf of Smoothie King
Longevity Ribbon: William Wiley, 40 years; Clay Courtney, 25 years; Michelle Crowley, 25 years; Jeremy Foreman, 25 years; and Scott Kelley, 25 years
Unit Citation: Captain Jeff Walden and Firefighters Joe Bates, Brian Capehart, Nick Dubuisson, and Mark Seymour; Battalion Chief David Williams, Captain Matt Powell, and Firefighters Daryle Bradley, Matthew Bozeman, Kevin Dill, Justin Lopez, John Massey, Ken Morton, and Jesse Richard
Firefighter of the Year: Captain Matt Powell, Captain Robert Weikal, and Firefighters Daryle Bradley, Derrick Gates, Morgan Howe, Justin Lopez, and Mickey Worzella
Keesler Federal Credit Union 1st Responder of the Year: Firefighter Kenny Matlock
Life Saving Award Medal/Ribbon: Captain Brian Rouse, Firefighters Sammy Jenner, Robert Romero, Gerry Thibodeaux, Brian Williamson, Battalion Chief David Williams, and Firefighters Shawn Battise,  Cameron Whiteside, and Mike Sigman
Medal of Merit: Inspectors Will Fairley, Caleb Hudson, Brian McLeod and Bobby Powell and Firefigthers Aaron Dorcik, Al Hampton, and Scott Kelley.

The awards ceremony was held on Nov. 29 at the Biloxi Civic Center.
Video: The 2018 awards ceremony