Award-winning float designers recognized

The city and leaders of Gulf Coast Carnival on Tuesday recognized two dozen Biloxi students as award-winning Mardi Gras float designers.

Mayor A.J. Holloway and Biloxi Public Schools Superintendent Arthur McMillan presented Mardi Gras doubloons and cash prizes to the students, who were winners in the 15th annual Mardi Gras Shoe Box Float Contest.

The annual contest, which is co-sponsored by the Biloxi Bay Chamber and Mardi Gras Museum, is designed to foster an interest in the traditions of Mardi Gras. Longtime carnival and school supporters Susan Hunt and her sister, Martha Tripp, help organize the contest each year in local schools.

Among those honored at City Hall during the City Council meeting on Tuesday:

First place winners: Charles Villanueva, Biloxi Junior High; Jade Salazar, Gorneflo; Mairybeth Cotto Miranda, Jeff Davis; Abby Gail Kinlock, Lopez; Alexis Mathis, Nativity; Madisyn Crosslin, North Bay; Maren Kate Nadolski, Our Lady Of Fatima; and Stephen Harden, Popp’s Ferry (second place winner last year).

Second place winners: Jacob Duncan, Biloxi Junior High; Tien Duong, Gorenflo; Katie O’Neal, Jeff Davis; Matthew Tran, Lopez; Holly Warner, Nativity;
Chase Nadolski, North Bay; Abby Yates, Our Lady of Fatima (third place winner last year); and Dhayla Gregory, Popp’s Ferry.

Third place winners: Triana Dumont, Biloxi Junior High; Kaitlyn Martin, Gorenflo; Sara Nance, Jeff Davis; Bertrand Antoine, Lopez; Gracie Hankins, Nativity; Valerie Wagner, North Bay; Makenzie Lawrence, Our Lady of Fatima; and Alex Shambra, Popp’s Ferry.

See the photos: To see photos of the award-winning students and their award-winning shoe box floats, along with other photos from the City Council meeting Tuesday,
click here.