7 of 8 teams now chosen for Conference USA

It’s official: Seven of the eight teams have been decided for the Conference USA Baseball Championship at USM Park next week.

The teams are top-seeded Southern Miss, followed by Old Dominion, Louisiana Tech, Florida Atlantic, Charlotte, University of Texas at San Antonio and Rice.

Florida International University and Marshall remain in contention for the final spot.

The tournament, which is expected to attract at least 15,000 fans May 24-28 at MGM Park, will be televised before national audiences on ESPN3 and the CBS Sports Network.

The championship is being sponsored by Overtime Sports and presented by The First, A National Banking Association.

Southern Miss has clinched the regular season championship and conference rules state that the No. 1 seed gets to select what time it will play its opening game on Wednesday, with the remainder of the schedule to fall in place once that has been determined.  The defending tournament champion Golden Eagles have opted to play the 4 p.m. contest on the first day of the double-elimination tournament against the No. 8 seed.

The First’s 2017 Conference USA Championship returns to a neutral site for the first time since 2012 and just the sixth time in the league’s history.  Three-year old MGM Park is hosting the league’s 22nd championship.  The Championship Game on Sunday, May 28 will be nationally-televised by CBS Sports Network, while all other games will be available on ESPN3 and the Watch ESPN app.
City Desk: Tim Bennett discusses the tournament
See the Conference USA standings
Get your C-USA reserved seats now