CITY OF BILOXI INAUGURATION 2017

The Beginning

The stage is set for a safer, friendlier and more vibrant Biloxi





GOVERNANCE IN BILOXI

Since the arrival of the French in 1699, Biloxi has been governed under a variety of forms of government.

In 1978, Biloxi citizens voted to enter the city's present form of governance, the Mayor-Council form of government. After three years, in 1981, the Biloxi electorate chose a mayor and seven councilmembers, elected by citizens in wards throughout the city. Biloxi continues to employ this type of government.

The City Council meets regularly on the first, third and fourth Tuesday of each month in the City Council room on the second floor of City Hall, 140 Lameuse St.

The first meeting of the month is at 6 p.m.; subsequent weekly council meetings are at 1:30 p.m. The meeting schedule may change in the event of holidays, and additional, special-called meetings are scheduled from time to time. Notice of all meetings is provided to the media in advance and posted on the city website.

For a wealth of information about Biloxi, past, present and future, visit the city website at biloxi.ms.us.

THE FULL-TIME MAYORS OF BILOXI

- 1838 Biloxi receives charter, with government of elected president and selectmen.
- On the eve of the Civil War, "titles of mayor and aldermen replaced the earlier designations for Biloxi's part-time elected officials."
- 1919 Biloxi voters choose their first full-time city officials, a mayor and two commissioners, elected to four-year terms. This mayor-commission form of government served the city through 1981.
- 1919 John J. Kennedy
- 1923 John J. Kennedy
- 1927 John J. Kennedy
- 1931 John J. Kennedy
- 1933 Hart Chinn
- 1935 John A. O'Keefe
- 1936 Louis Braun
- 1939 Louis Braun
- 1943 Chester Delacruz
- 1947 G.B. Cousins
- 1951 Hart Chinn
- 1953 Laz Quave
- 1957 Laz Quave
- 1961 Daniel D. Guice
- 1965 Daniel D. Guice
- 1969 Daniel D. Guice
- 1973 Jeremiah J. O'Keefe
- 1977 Jeremiah J. O'Keefe
- 1978 Voters choose the mayor-council form of government, which provided for a mayor elected at large, and councilmen elected from seven wards throughout the city.
- 1981 Gerald Blessey
- 1985 Gerald Blessey
- 1989 Pete Halat
- 1993 A.J. Holloway
- 1997 A.J. Holloway
- 2001 A.J. Holloway
- 2005 A.J. Holloway
- 2009 A.J. Holloway
- 2013 A.J. Holloway
- 2015 Andrew "FoFo" Gilich

(Sources of information: "History of Biloxi governance," and captions from Gallery of Mayors photo exhibit on second floor of City Hall.)

City of Biloxi INAUGURATION CEREMONY

Saenger Theater – June 28, 2017

Musical Selections:	"Ode to Joy," from Symphony No. 9 in D minor Op. 125, Ludwig van Beethoven, 1824 "Rhapsody in Blue," George Gershwin, 1924
Welcome/Master of Ceremonies:	. William Sackett, host of City Desk podcast
Presentation of Colors:	. City of Biloxi Police and Fire Color Guard
Pledge of Allegiance:	Kenneth Irvin, Kelton McGee, and Scoutmaster Loyce Searight, Boy Scouts Troop 419 St. Paul United Methodist Church
National Anthem:	. Jacqueline Coale
Invocation:	. The Rev. Paul D. Springer Pentecostal of the Gulf Coast
Oath of Office – Councilmembers:	. Ward 1, George W. Lawrence, Oath by Honorable Albert Fountain
	Ward 2, Felix O. Gines Oath by Honorable Albert Fountain
	Ward 3, Dixie Newman Oath by Honorable Bruce Strong
	Ward 4, Robert L. Deming III Oath by Honorable Christopher Schmidt
	Ward 5, Paul A. Tisdale Oath by Honorable William Tisdale
	Ward 6, Kenny Glavan Oath by Honorable Albert Fountain
	Ward 7, Nathan Barrett Oath by Honorable Fant Walker
Oath of Office – Mayor	. The Honorable Albert Fountain
Inaugural Address:	. Mayor Andrew "FoFo" Gilich
Benediction:	. The Very Rev. Bishop Louis F. Kihneman Catholic Diocese of Biloxi
Musical Selections:	. "In the Air Tonight," Phil Collins, 1981



